1 min

Halifax Pride announces new chair, members to board

After its recent annual general meeting, Halifax Pride has announced that it has named seven new members to its board.

The first board meeting took place last Tuesday, and the duties for the newly elected members to the board were determined. The new members are Willem Blois (logistics), Heather Green (entertainment), Anthony Jones-Vaillancourt (treasurer), Gaidheal McIntyre, Mark Monk (volunteer), Tim Murphy (vice-chair) and Dylan White (communications). Recurring members include Paul Forrest (secretary/parade), Marion Steele (sponsorship) and Adam Reid (Queer Acts Festival).

Also returning to the board of directors, this time as its chair, is Ramona Westgate, as the new chair of Halifax Pride. Halifax Pride released a statement from Westgate: "I am very excited to undertake this challenging new role with Halifax Pride. Our newly elected board is a diverse group of individuals with various backgrounds and specific talents well suited for their individual roles within the organization. I am confident that the current board is dedicated to planning a festival and events that are reflective of the feedback we receive from the community we serve.”