1 min

MARRIAGE VOTE: Four cabinet ministers to vote against government motion

Two more in cabinet, plus five backbenchers likely to vote against party's motion

Four Conservative cabinet ministers are expected to vote against re-opening same-sex marriage: Jim Prentice, David Emerson, Josée Verner, and John Baird. Emerson voted in favour of same-sex marriage in June 2005 as a Liberal cabinet minister; Prentice was one of just three Conservatives who voted that way.

They will join rookie MPs Josée Verner, and John Baird in voting against re-opening the debate on equal marriage. Both Peter MacKay and Lawrence Cannon have declined to reveal how they will vote on Dec 7.