2 min

Meet the decision-makers

The provincial Police Act says the Vancouver Police Board will consist of the mayor as chairperson, one person appointed by city council and not more than five provincial appointees.

Board members are appointed to a term not to exceed four years, although they may be re-appointed. They cannot hold office for more than six consecutive years.

Although the board sets policy for the police department, it’s funded by taxpayers and is appointed by public bodies. Most of its meetings are closed to the public.

The mayor of Vancouver chairs the police board. Mayor of the city since 2002, when COPE took the majority on council seats away from the NPA, Campbell is a former member of the RCMP and a former city coroner.

Janet Pau has been a trustee with St Paul’s Hospital, Providence Health Care and the Vancouver Art Gallery. She is the past president of the Vancouver Society of Financial Analysts, a past member on the task force on the provincial budget for the Vancouver Board of Trade, and a non-member governor of the Vancouver Stock Exchange. She was also appointed to the BC Financial Institutions commission by Victoria. Pau lives in the Arbutus Ridge neighbourhood.

La Liberté has been a lawyer for 30 years, is an adjunct professor at the University of British Columbia law school, and a past president of the Canadian Bar Association.

La Liberté is also a director of the Native Court Workers and Counselling Association. The group works with various native groups across Canada on the sentencing of First Nations people in the justice system.

La Liberté has also been involved with a number of high-profile cases in BC, including defending Air India bombing suspect Ripudaman Singh Malik.

Kenneth Bagshaw was appointed to the Vancouver Police Board on Feb 22, 2001. He resigned late last year to join the 2010 Olympics organizing committee, where he will act as senior vice-president and general counsel.

A lawyer since 1965, Bagshaw has been a director with the University of British Columbia Board of Governors, The Hamber Foundation, University of British Columbia Foundation, Vancouver Art Gallery Association, West Vancouver School Board and West Vancouver Electors Association. He lives in West Vancouver.

Peter Webster was appointed to the Vancouver Police Board on Jan 1, 2003. A business executive, Webster has a background in financial and asset management. Webster has been a director on some 23 different corporate boards at the provincial, national and international level. He has been involved with the Justice Institute of BC Foundation, the BC Paraplegic Foundation, the Vancouver Police Foundation, the BC Health Foundation and the Addictive Drug Information Council. Webster lives in Point Grey.

Four-term NPA city councillor Lynne Kennedy was appointed to the Vancouver Police Board Jan 30, 2003. She has served on the Greater Vancouver Regional District, the Union of BC Municipalities and its Justice and Protective Services Committee.

Kennedy is president of Linman Investments, and a director and financial officer of Mandale Holdings. She has worked in continuing education, curriculum development, taught high school, and was a school trustee. Kennedy lives in downtown Vancouver.

Mary McNeil was appointed to the Vancouver Police Board Jan 1, 2004.

President of the BC Cancer Foundation, McNeil is also involved with the BC Institute of Technology (BCIT), the Vancouver Children’s Choir and the YWCA’s Inner Circle Committee.

In 2003, McNeil was recognized by BC Business Magazine as one of the top six CEOs in BC. She lives in Yaletown.