1 min

PFLAG Toronto honours politicians

MPPs get spotlight for trans rights bill

Three Ontario MPPs were honoured by PFLAG Toronto on April 15 for their work in support of Toby’s Act. The bill, passed in 2012 with all-party support, amended the Ontario Human Rights Code to prohibit discrimination based on gender identity.
The three MPPs — Cheri DiNovo (NDP), Christine Elliott (PC) and Yasir Naqvi (Lib) — were all instrumental in getting the bill through the legislature.
Toby’s Law, as it is known, was named in memory of Toby Dancer, a trans person and musician who died in 2004.
Below are interviews with the MPPs at the PFLAG event.