1 min

Pride Toronto gets new co-chair

Shelley Craig previously sat on the PFLAG national board in the United States

Shelley Craig is Pride Toronto's new co-chair. Credit: Andrea Houston

Pride Toronto board member Shelley Craig is joining Sean Hillier as the new co-chair to lead the organization.

The next few months will be a crucial time as Pride gears up to host WorldPride.

Craig, a social worker, has experience on a number of different boards, including the PFLAG national board in the United States. She is currently assistant professor at the Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work at the University of Toronto.

At its Oct 24 annual general meeting, PT elected three new members, which increases the number of women by one. The three new board members are Dana Suvagau, Aaron GlynWilliams and Chris Tremeer.

"Our new board members provide a fitting complement to ensure that Pride Toronto is effective in engaging all members of our community facilitating true representation of Toronto's diverse cultural and community groups," says Craig.

Just before the AGM, former PT co-chair Francisco Alvarez abruptly resigned from the board, claiming other board members forced him out as co-chair.

Pride Toronto has also shaken up its board committees and respective chairs:

Governance Committee: Paul Saguil

Human Resources & Compensation Committee: Shelley Craig

WorldPride Engagement Committee: Susan Gapka

Community Relations Committee: Lauryn Kronick & Dana Suvagau

Finance & Audit Committee: Kent Churn

Board Recruitment Development Committee: Kerry Bell

Arts & Culture Programming Committee: Kent Churn