1 min

Will Pride Toronto have a grand marshal in 2010?

Pride Toronto will announce Friday, June 4, what it intends to do about vacant honoree titles, according to the organization's executive director, Tracey Sandilands.

This news comes after Alan Li declined the grand marshal title and Jane Farrow rejected her invitation to be the honoured dyke. Michelle Walker also declined Pride Toronto's 2010 community service award, and all three cited the
organization's censorship of the term "Israeli Apartheid."

Selecting the Parade's honorees is a complicated process, with a nomination period, a review of applications by Pride Toronto, and a vote by former recipients. The system, introduced this year, replaced a public vote used in previous years.

With less than a month to go before celebrations kick off, it may not be possible to begin all over again. And who would oversee it remains up in the air, since Matthew Cutler, who stewarded the process earlier this year, resigned as process coordinator on May 14.

Read more:

Bookmark and Share