Arts & Entertainment
3 min

World AIDS Day programming on OutTV

Day of docs and films features Canadian premieres

OutTV will be marking World AIDS Day (Dec 1) with a day of programming starting at 12:30pm EST / 9:30am PST.

OUTtv Premieres

The Ride. 6pm EST / 3pm PST.
This reality documentary series follows the stories of a diverse group of cyclists taking part in the seven-day, 585-mile race AIDS/Lifecycle 4 annual race, as they struggle in the fight against HIV and AIDS. This series offers an in-depth look at some of this year’s participants, the reasons they’ve chosen to undertake this challenge, and the people in their lives who serve as their inspiration.

Here: Focus AIDS. 4pm EST / 1pm PST. 
Focussing on organizations who offer support, education and assistance with regards to HIV/AIDS.

Ribbon of Hope Special 2007. 11:30pm EST / 8:30pm PST.
Honouring programming excellence in AIDS awareness, education, and action. The goal of this special is to celebrate television programming and people that care about AIDS, with a focus on the queer community. 

Staying Alive 2008. 2:30pm EST / 11:30am PST.
This dramatized series, shot in Jamaica, features real-life stories highlighting sexual and social issues. Shot by renowned music video director, Ras Kassa. Unfolding in reverse, part one features Dragga, a street-smart youth slowly becoming the guy to go to for anything. He finds himself at a crossroads, torn between his friendship with Sheldon and a girl. Part two introduces the life of Sheldon’s girlfriend and her friends. Opening at a party, the story unfolds into the myriad of risks young people find themselves exposed to, gay or straight.

Diary of Kelly Rowland. 12:30pm EST / 9:30am PST.

Global superstar and founding member of Destiny’s Child, Kelly Rowland, as recently appointed Staying Alive Foundation Ambassador, chronicles her first-hand experiences with young people affected by HIV/AIDS. This one-hour show features intimate discussions between Kelly and young adults, gay and straight, from around the globe, who give insights and breadth to their lives and relationships in their respective countries. While in Kenya, Kelly gets tested for HIV, to encourage the young people she met to know their status. The diary/documentary is shot in South Africa, Kenya, Tanzania and the US. Sometimes shocking, sometimes humorous, the program will allow you to get to know some exceptional young people around the world.

 

Other Movies and Documentaries

Rock Hudsons Home Movies. 4:30pm EST / 1:30pm PST.
Eric Farr speaks to the camera as if speaking Rock Hudson’s words from a posthumous diary. Film clips from more than 30 Hudson films illustrate ways in which his sexual orientation played out on screen. First we see tenuous and unresolved relationships with women, then clips of Rock with men, cruising and circling. Next comes pedagogical Eros: Hudson with older men. We see Rock with his sidekicks, often Tony Randall. We look in depth at comedies of sexual embarrassment and innuendo: films in which Hudson sometimes plays two characters, “macho Rock and homo Rock.” He’s masculine yet vulnerable, a hunk who needs taking care of. Last come cinematic reflections on death.

Nervous Energy… 9pm EST / 6pm PST.

Tom (Cal Macaninch) is young man with AIDS living in London with his lover Ira (Alfred Molina). The virus has exaggerated Tom’s nervous energy and in his manic state he suddenly decides to go to Glasgow to visit the family he hasn’t seen in 10 years. His brother Ian (John McGlynn) turns against him and only his mother shows any compassion for him. The visit soon develops into a nightmare as dementia sets in and Tom’s health rapidly declines. Finally, events come to a head and Ira has no choice but to force Tom back to London, where he expects him to die at any time.

The Bicycle. 10:45 pm EST / 7:45pm PST.

Follow Pax Chingawale as he cycles from village to village in Zomba District, Malawi, fighting AIDS at the grassroots. A documentary about the plight of Africans dying of AIDS.

The Gift. 12 midnight EST / 9pm PST
.
Louise Hogarth’s award-winning documentary looks at young gay men who actively seek infection with HIV.

Sex Is… 1am EST / 10pm PST.
(Winner – Best Gay Film Award, 1993 Berlin International Film Festival)
Marc Huestis edits interviews with 15 men, including himself, around a set of topics starting with “what is sex?” The men are gay, living in or near San Francisco. They talk about their first sexual experiences, the gay scene in San Francisco in the late 1970s, the pall cast by AIDS, the safe-sex movement, getting into serious relationships, the illness and death of partners, pornography, SM and pain, race and stereotypes, personal fantasies, and bliss.